Informa Maritime is part of the Knowledge and Networking Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.


About the Commodore Award

The Connecticut Maritime Association is a non-profit organization built by it's members for its members. It is an Association made of individuals representing every aspect of shipping and International trade.  

Each year the CMA Board present the annual Commodore Award to an someone who has significantly contributed to the dynamism, growth and development of the maritime industry. The presentation takes place during the Gala Dinner, which never fails to provide a grand and fitting finale to what is always a spectacular event.

The Dinner each year brings together 800 members of the international community for a fun, respectful and often moving celebration of a deserving individual, reminding us all what makes the industry great.

Winner of the 2018 Commodore Award

The Year 2018 Commodore recipient was: Ms. Sabrina S. M. Chao, Executive Chairman, Wah Kwong Maritime Transport Holdings Limited

Ms Chao follows a long succession of influential maritime industry leaders as Commodore. Sabrina has been involved in multiple aspects of the maritime industry, having worked in a number of corporations including Tanker International, Britannia P&I club, Bureau Veritas before joining her family maritime business Wah Kwong. Through her roles she has contributed both to the industry and local maritime community through her professional and personal endeavours, including her appointment as Chairperson at the Hong Kong Shipowners Association.  

Winners of the Commodore Award

2017 John D. “Jack” Noonan, CEO, Chembulk Tankers

2016 Paddy Rodgers, CEO of Euronav NV

2015 Capt. Panagiotis N. Tsakos, Founder, Tsakos Group

2014 Robert Bugbee, President & Director, Scorpio Tankers Inc. & Scorpio Bulkers Inc.

2013 Peter Evensen, President & CEO, Teekay Corporation

2012 Øivind Lorentzen, III, CEO, SEACOR Holdings Inc.

2011 Angeliki Frangou, Chairman & CEO, Navios Group of Companies

2010 Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, President, Louis Dreyfus Armateurs Group

2009 Capt. Wei Jiafu, President & CEO, COSCO Group

2008 John Fredriksen, Chairman, CEO & President, Frontline Ltd.

2007 Morten Arntzen, President & CEO, Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.

2006 Torben G. Jensen, Chairman & CEO, The Clipper Group

2005 C. Sean Day, Chairman, Teekay Shipping Corporation

2004 Peter C. Georgiopoulos, Chairman & CEO, General Maritime Corporation

2003 Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Chairman, easyGroup

2002 Frank Tsao, Group Chairman, IMC Group of Companies

2001 Marc Saverys, Managing Director, CMB

2000 Per Heidenreich, President, Heidenreich Marine

1999 Richard du Moulin, Chairman, Marine Transport, Corporation and Chairman, Intertanko

1998 William A. O’Neil, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization

1997 Gerhard E. Kurz, President, Mobil Shipping and Transportation Company

1996 Dr. Helmut Sohmen, Chairman, World-Wide Shipping Agency, Ltd. (HK)

1995 Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis, President, Eletson Corporation

1994 Thomas E. Moran, Chairman, Moran Towing Corporation

1993 Philip Loree, Chairman, Federation of American, Controlled Shipping

1992 George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic, George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic

1991 Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, Chairman, Stolt-Nielsen, Inc.

1990 Ole Skaarup, Chairman, Skaarup Shipping Corporation


Gala Commodore Dinner

Held at the Hilton Stamford Hotel

Join us for a fantastic evening with a 3 course dinner, to celebrate the new Commodore!

Book your Gala Dinner Ticket

Gala Dinner Sponsors

Post Dinner AfterGlow Reception Sponsors